Loading Events

« All Events

Sport Climbing Tokyo Olympics

2nd Aug 2021 5th Aug 2021

Sport climbing will see its debut at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics. Two events will be held, one for men and one for women. The proposed format will consist of three disciplines: lead climbingspeed climbing and bouldering. The winner will be determined based on who performs best in all three disciplines.

There are 40 quota spots available for sport climbing. Each National Olympic Committee can obtain a maximum of 2 spots in each event (total 4 maximum across the 2 events). Each event will have 20 competitors qualify: 18 from qualification, 1 from the host (Japan), and 1 from Tripartite Commission invitations.[10]

The 2019 IFSC Climbing World Championships served as one qualification event with 7 spots per gender being awarded to the top finishers of the combined event.

Christopher Cosser and Erin Sterkenburg filled the Africa quota through the selection at the African Continental Championships held at CityROCK Cape town in December 2020.

Qualified Athletes

Host place1 Kai Harada (JPN)[21] Miho Nonaka (JPN)[21]
World Championship7 Tomoa Narasaki (JPN)
 Jakob Schubert (AUT)
 Rishat Khaibullin (KAZ)
 Mickaël Mawem (FRA)
 Alex Megos (GER)
 Ludovico Fossali (ITA)
 Sean McColl (CAN)
 Janja Garnbret (SLO)
 Akiyo Noguchi (JPN)[24]
 Shauna Coxsey (GBR)
 Aleksandra Mirosław (POL)
 Petra Klingler (SUI)
 Brooke Raboutou (USA)
 Jessica Pilz (AUT)
Olympic Qualifying Event6 Adam Ondra (CZE)
 Bassa Mawem (FRA)
 Jan Hojer (GER)
 Pan Yufei (CHN)
 Alberto Ginés López (ESP)
 Nathaniel Coleman (USA)
 Julia Chanourdie (FRA)
 Mia Krampl (SLO)
 Iuliia Kaplina (RUS)
 Kyra Condie (USA)
 Laura Rogora (ITA)
 Song Yiling (CHN)
Pan American Championships1 Colin Duffy (USA) Alannah Yip (CAN)
African Championships1 Christopher Cosser (RSA) Erin Sterkenburg (RSA)
European Championships1 Aleksei Rubtsov (RUS) Viktoriia Meshkova (RUS)
Oceania Championships1 Tom O’Halloran (AUS) Oceana Mackenzie (AUS)
Asian Championships0
Tripartite Commission0
Reallocation2 Chon Jong-won (KOR)[7][17]
 Michael Piccolruaz (ITA)[18]
 Seo Chae-hyun (KOR)[7][17]
 Anouck Jaubert (FRA)[18]

We will add more details and live stream links as they become available.

Leave a Reply